16 02 2012

Storms

“Your thunder was heard in the whirlwind, your lightning lit up the world; the earth trembled and quaked!”  (Psalm 77:18)

You need the storms of life to hear and see the Lord!  You have to look at the storm with the sun behind you see a rainbow!

Here in Georgia with hot summer days, lighting and storms bubble up in the late afternoon  and evening.  My grans react in different ways.  James Owen, 3 years old, just yell a loud boom when the thunder crashes.  Kendall Marie, 5 years old, quakes and trembles in fear and has to be hugged and comforted!

One night, the cable got knocked out for 12 hours taking the phone,  and TV with it!  At least, we had electricity!  When the electricity is out I still automatically turn the light switches on as I enter a room.  The only thing that I can do is read my Kindle by flashlight!

The way you respond to storms depends on your past experience with them and what you think about them!  I can remember growing up seeing lightning hit a big tree in the yard leaving a scar.  Once, I saw lightening circle around a tree in my neighbor’s yard.

Another time, a house on the block was hit by lightening that followed a gas line into the house and blew up the kitchen!  Fire trucks came, the police and everything.  The old couple wasn’t home but the alarm called the fire department!  The street was blocked to people trying to get home.  It was a mess!

Sometime, with lightening the phone rings and the lights blink.  The thunder makes a resounding … boom!  My grangirl shakes and quakes!  People have been hit by lighting while they were on the phone!

With chronic illness, I go in and out of storms!  They clear and the storm passes.  I walk may dog in the  neigborhood  sometimes.  The son passes in and out as the sun ducks behind a cloud. It’s hot with the sun boiling down.  I pray for the clouds to come to shield me from the heat of the sun.

The SON shields me from the heat of the day.  If I embrace the storms of life I grow as the Lord teaches me!

Father God, help me to embrace the storms of life as they come and let you teach me what I need to learn!  Amen and Amen!

What storms are you facing right now?

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978; is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone; is a Stephen minister; has 2 sons and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta , GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows “In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line at joyawe@ eathlink.net.   

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

