17 02 2012

I am a new creation in You!

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (II Corinthians 5:17)
I remember, not long after I was diagnosed, hearing a sermon preached on “behold all things are new in Christ!”  I thought, “Yeah!   All things are new!  I liked life the way they were when I was healthy enough to sing more than one verse at a time, I could stand and talk at the same time, etc.  I wanted the old me back!

I was able to hold down a full time job as a Visiting Nurse, be a ministers wife, sing solos and in the choir, teach SS, lead a girl’s                  group at church, play softball, teach my boys basketball, and make                     soccer  runs as dinner cooked.   Now, all things are new!

Before I could start my new life, I needed to grieve my old life as                      a new creature.  I needed to break free of my old life and expecta-                tations and let go of the old me to really move on to the new me in      the moment of “now” … not the dreams or fears of yesterday or of              tomorrow.

Like the caterpillar, I needed to build a cocoon like to liquefy myself.  Every part of the caterpillar is used to create the butterfly, just as;                                                            every part of us is used if the creative process of the new me.  The getting
through the grief process allows me to break out of the old                                                          to move on in my life!

In my grief process I was reborn as a student in rehabilitation counseling, speaker, author of many articles in professional and journals and books, Licensed Professional Counselor, Certified Medical Psychotherapist, etc., etc.!  Every part of the old me became part of the new me.

Many times I felt like I was whistling in the dark only to look back later and see Lord was leading, guiding and sometimes pushing me step along the way.  I was just being faithful to the moment and found the Lord was birthing a book through me over the years, a new profession, and a new way of Success-fully living within my limitations!  I have        needed to grieve over and over again as new diagnosis were announced and other losses accumulated!

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with

SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978;

is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES

FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER

WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a

counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone and

Internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons

and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta,

GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows

I am a new creation in You!

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!” (II Corinthians 5:17)
I remember, not long after I was diagnosed, hearing a sermon preached on “behold all things are new in Christ!”  I thought, “Yeah!   All things are new!  I liked life the way they were when I was healthy enough to sing more than one verse at a time, I could stand and talk at the same time, etc.  I wanted the old me back!

I was able to hold down a full time job as a Visiting Nurse, be a ministers wife, sing solos and in the choir, teach SS, lead a girl’s                  group at church, play softball, teach my boys basketball, and make                     soccer  runs as dinner cooked.   Now, all things are new!

Before I could start my new life, I needed to grieve my old life as                      a new creature.  I needed to break free of my old life and expecta-                tations and let go of the old me to really move on to the new me in      the moment of “now” … not the dreams or fears of yesterday or of              tomorrow.

Like the caterpillar, I needed to build a cocoon like to liquefy myself.  Every part of the caterpillar is used to create the butterfly, just as;                                                            every part of us is used if the creative process of the new me.  The getting
through the grief process allows me to break out of the old                                                          to move on in my life!

In my grief process I was reborn as a student in rehabilitation counseling, speaker, author of many articles in professional and journals and books, Licensed Professional Counselor, Certified Medical Psychotherapist, etc., etc.!  Every part of the old me became part of the new me.

Many times I felt like I was whistling in the dark only to look back later and see Lord was leading, guiding and sometimes pushing me step along the way.  I was just being faithful to the moment and found the Lord was birthing a book through me over the years, a new profession, and a new way of Success-fully living within my limitations!  I have        needed to grieve over and over again as new diagnosis were announced and other losses accumulated!

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with

SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978;

is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES

FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER

WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a

counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone and

Internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons

and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta,

GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows

“In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line

at joyawe@earthlink.net.

“In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line

at joyawe@earthlink.net.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

