17 02 2012

 

“I give thanks in all things!”

 

 

 

…“Give thanks in all circumstances, for this is                                  God’s will for you in Christ Jesus” (1 Thes.                                                                           5: 18, NIV).

 

We are admonished to give thanks in all things                                                     in Christ, not for all things.  We can have every                                         confidence that the Lord can bring redemption                                                 in all things … floods, earthquakes, fires, illness,                                        death, pain, etc.  … everything!

 

We may not be able to see the redemption in the                                           short run but as we look back over time we can                                                see the Lord’s hand in it all!  Many times I have                                       thought I was just whistling in the dark only to                                                         find out later that I was really going somewhere!

 

It’s not logical and hard to give thanks when you’re                                                               suffering, in pain, depressed, lost, confused, up                                                         against a wall.  I know I have fought giving thanks                                         many times and in many circumstances.

 

Be thankful to the Lord for lupus and all its cousins!                                              No way was I going to be thankful for divorce that                                                                            would leave me with 2 teenage boys into                                                                     all sorts of mischief!  The Lord worked with me and                                                                       brought me to the throne of grace to give thanks                                                              in it all for what He would bring out of                                                                                                                         it all.

 

Recently, I have gone though a long stretch of                                                           being house bound and not able to do much of any-                                                                                                     thing following a string of life shattering events.  At                                                      times, I was able to give thanks for how rotten I was                                     feeling not knowing where it might take me or if I’d                                                         ever pull out of it.

 

I have finally pulled out of it with the understanding                                                                      that I do have limits, that the Lord is with me even                                     when I can’t reach out to Him as He redeems all things                                                 in His perfect, wisdom, grace and timing!  Thanking                                                     Him in the midst of the cloud helped me claim His                                                           redemption is at work.

 

When I was able to give thanks in my circumstances,                                                                                                 I’d find that I would feel the Lord’s presence take place                                                                     of the confusion, anger, and clouded mind.  The circum-                                                                               stances would be the same but I would be different.

 

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with

 

SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978;

 

is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES

 

FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER

 

WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a

 

counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone and

 

Internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons

 

and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta,

 

GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows

 

“In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line

 

at joyawe@earthlink.net.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

