17 02 2012

 

“I will pray continually.”

 

 

 

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks

 

in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for

 

you in Christ Jesus” (I Thes. 5: 16-18 (NIV).

 

 

 

Living with chronic pain and/or illness makes for

 

frequent contact with certain people … pharma-

 

cists, doctors, nurses, office staff, friends, family

 

who understand what’s going on with us or not

 

… our support community.

 

 

 

We are to intercede in prayer for all of those peo-

 

ple that we come into contact with in the circum-

 

stances of our lives.  We need to pray continually

 

in order to pray for all of the people  that fill our

 

days and lives.

 

 

 

The real business of life as a saved soul is to pray

 

For people that we brush lives with.  We are to

 

labor in prayer where we are.  Intercessory prayer

 

doesn’t leave us any time to pray for our poor piti-

 

ful selves.

 

 

 

The Holy Spirit prays through us prayers we can’t

 

utter.  The Holy Spirit looks after the uncon-

 

scious part of us … 90% of our minds.  We are to

 

guard the conscious part of our minds … 10 %.

 

What better way to guard our conscious thoughts

 

than with our prayers as a shrine for the Holy Spirit.

 

 

 

Through praying continually we become poured

 

out wine and broken bread.  It takes discernment,

 

not judgement or criticism for intercessory prayer.

 

Intercessory prayer changes us.  We can pray con-

 

tinually whether in bed, the hospital, or up and

 

about … spiritual warfare.

 

 

 

I needed to live with my youngest son and his wife

 

for 8 years after I lost my home due to mold.  I have

 

a difficult relationship with my daughter-in-law that

 

is very challenging and painful to live with.  I didn’t

 

know how to relate to her.

 

 

 

I began hiding in my basement apartment to avoid

 

confrontation or contact with her. I started praying

 

for her every time we had a run in or difficult circum-

 

stances cropped up.  I’d pray for her when she walked

 

by my apartment door.  Little by little, the Lord gave

 

me discernment and understanding and love for her.

 

Praise the Lord!

 

 

 

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with

 

SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978;

 

is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES

 

FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER

 

WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a

 

counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone and

 

Internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons

 

and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta,

 

GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows

 

“In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

