17 02 2012

 

 

 

I Seek Your Kingdom

 

 

 

“Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Mt. 6:33, NIV).

 

I learned this verse from the Sermon on the Mount first as a girl going through the Girl’s Auxiliary at my church.  I wasn’t real sure what it all meant but it sounded good!  I memorized it by rote like the other girls did.

 

As I have journeyed through life, the Lord has been fleshing out the meaning for me in real life.  First, in a Bible study class, the Lord taught me that righteousness means to be right relationship to God, self and others.

 

Those relationships are all interrelated and intertwined.  I need to be in a balanced healthy relationship with God to love myself.  It’s only in Christ’s love that I can love and value myself with illness, pain, fever, nausea, etc..  My mind and body can be pulling on me in feedback loop.  The only way to pull of the mind/body feedback loop is spiritually!

 

Once I find right relationship with the Lord, I can then more realistically turn back and find healthy, balanced relationship with others.  In loving and valuing myself, I can then turn and work on relationships with others.

 

Illness can throw all of these relationships out of kilter as I become self absorbed.  I can be the healthiest mind/body/spirit when I am self-focused and God focused.  On one end there’s selflessness and on the other end there is selfish.  In the middle is self-focused.  I listen to my own wisdom and lift it to Holy Spirit rather than obsessing and ruminating about things, symptoms, problems, and difficulties,

 

and all.  I need to seek all of those things within me and learn from them what the Lord is trying to teach me!  Sometimes I feel like I’ve learned enough and don’t need to be taught anymore.

 

The Lord gently reminds me that this verse is a lifetime journey that’ll never be completed!  It’s, also, an adventure that has amazing discoveries of what it means to seek first the Kingdom of God and His righteousness and watch as all things are given to me.

 

I came to understand that the Kingdom of God is everything within me … talents & faults, strengths & weaknesses, health & dis-ease, warts and all.  I need to seek all of those things within me and learn from them what the Lord is trying to teach me!  Sometimes I feel like I’ve learned enough and don’t need to be taught anymore.

 

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978; is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a counseling ministry,

 

Celebrate Life, by phone and internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta, GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows “In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line at joyawe@earthlink.net.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

