17 02 2012

“My Times Are In Your Hands”

“You are my God.  My times are in Your hands …” (Psalm 31:15, NIV).

Our time is not the Lord’s time.  Our time is short and limited.  The

Lord works on eternity time.  Eternity starts with the moment of now

and stretches out into tomorrow.  We are not called to do be

successful but to be faithful to the moment in the Lord.

Our times are our birth, marriage, career, illness, death, divorce, etc.

The Lord moves more slowly than we would.  It’s hard to wait on and

trust the Lord’s timing.  We want things right now if not before.

At times when I have been struggling with circumstances, I have

questioned the Lord’s timing.  When going through divorce, illnesses,

the possibility of blindness, etc. I just couldn’t trust these times could

be in the Lord’s hands.  Over time, I have found that “the Lord redeems

all things in His perfect wisdom, grace, and timing!”

We may not know how the times of our lives or the events of our lives

will unfold over time.  We do know the Lord has our times in His hands.

The whole world is in His hands.  What a comfort when going through

the unknown of illness, pain, fever, etc., that seems endless, that

our times are in the Lord’s hands.

I use to plan things ahead and had my life all scheduled out over time

… so I thought.   When things didn’t go as I planned them, I needed to

give over my moments to the Lord to play out His will in the moments

of my life.

My times are in His hands and everything is on schedule.  I need to

remind myself when my times seems clouded and uncertain.  I don’t

know what’s going to come next.  There are many moments of

uncertainty when living with illnesses.

The art of living with illnesses is learning to live a moment, step,

event, breath at a time and trust our times are in the Lord’s hands.

Present moment living with our times in the Lord’s hands can be.  We

are not chained to the hopes and fears of the past or the future be

free to live in the  moment of now.  The past is a memory.  The future

is a mystery.  The moment of now is a present from the Lord!

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978; is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a counseling ministry,

Celebrate Life, by phone and internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta, GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows “In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line at joyawe@earthlink.net.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

