17 02 2012

 

“Your hand is with me.”

 

 

 

“ Jabez cried out to the God of Israel, ‘Oh, that you

 

would bless me and enlarge my territory! Let your

 

hand be with me, and keep me from harm so that I

 

will be free from pain’” (I Chronicles 4:10 NIV).

 

 

 

The touch of a hand can be healing and calming.

 

Current medicine shows that pain can be relieved,

 

fever reduced, blood pressure reduced, anxiety

 

allayed etc. by the touch of a hand.  Just think of

 

the affect that the Lord’s hand would have if just

 

the touch of a human hand can produce such

 

effects.

 

 

 

The reference to the hand of God usually indicates

 

the powerful right hand of God … the right hand of

 

power, righteousness, and deliverance.   The King

 

at that time wore the ring of power and authority

 

on his right hand.  It had the official crest of the

 

kingdom on it to seal letters and proclamations.

 

 

 

It’s been shown that infants need the contact of

 

human touch to develop and grow.  Without touch

 

infants become listless, withdrawn, and fail to thrive.

 

The Lord’s hands touch on us is even more powerful

 

and healing than the human touch!

 

 

 

The Lord’s hand touching us allows us to heal and

 

grow spiritually.  Many times when I have been

 

worried, anxious, and frightened by illness throwing

 

my life head over heels, remembering that the Lord’s

 

hand is on me can settle me down, calm, and still me.

 

 

 

Pain, depression, and fatigue are worse when I am

 

anxious and frightened.  Once when I had severe,

 

penetrating pain from pericarditis, I was sacred to

 

death.  I pictured the Lord with His healing hand on

 

me saying to myself You keep me from pain.

 

 

 

I remembered, as Jabez, that the Lord’s hand on me

 

keeps me from pain.  I finally fell asleep.  When I

 

woke up, the pain was gone.  It was amazing that I

 

could fall sleep in so much pain and miraculous the

 

pain be gone.

 

 

 

During times of increased stress, pain,

 

or anxiety, remembering, the Lord’s healing hand is

 

on me brings me calm and healing in the midst of

 

the storm.

 

 

 

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with

 

SLE and many other rheumatic diseases since 1978;

 

is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES

 

FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER

 

WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a

 

counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone and

 

internet; is a Stephen minister; has 2 adult sons and

 

4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Atlanta, GA.

 

with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows

 

“In my weakness is Your strength.”  Drop me a line at joyawe@earthlink.net.

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

