The Battles of Life

17 02 2012

                               The Battles of life

 

The LORD will go ahead of you and lead you  Isaiah 52:12  (NIV).

I am going there to prepare a place for you. John14:2 (NIV).

Isa 53:4 Surely He has borne our griefs  (sicknesses, weaknesses, and distresses) and carried our sorrows and pains.  Isaiah  53:4  (NIV).

The LORD will fight for you. Just be still. Exodus  14:14 (NIV).

 

*”You go before me, prepare the way, carry and fight for me.”

 

This story may seem silly insignificant!  I was fighting for my balance emotionally, physically, and spiritually.  The year before I had fought my way through  a broken ankle that had triggered a severely painful lupus flare. 

 

I had to crawl to the bathroom, up and down the stairs to get something to eat, and put out my dog, Beamer.  I was unable to use my crutches due to carpal tunnel, inflamed lungs and ribcage.  I prayed to the Lord to let this pass from me … I didn’t think I could make it.

 

In a couple of months I took my licensing exam to be a Licensed Professional Counselor, my youngest son got married, and world events played out before me with massive loss of life … the bombing of the Denver Federal Office Building, the crash of plane full of people died in a senseless crash.

 

I cried out to the Lord, “Why have I been spared ,” feeling like my life was useless.  The Lord lit a fire under me.  I was determined to make the gift of my life count.

 

I changed churches, became a Stephen Minister, and immersed myself in teaching divorce recovery workshops and leading support groups.  After church one night, my beloved Beamer hemorrhaged out in my arms in 3 hours at the vets.

 

My tears showered   down on him! Beamer’s death seemed more than I could bear.  I walked through the house and screamed his name … “BEAMER where are you?”

 

  The Lord gave me the combination breath prayer … “You go before, prepare The Way, carry, and fight for me!!!”    

 

That breath prayer got me through this time, led me to LB (Little Beamer), … little baby, little boy, little brat, etc.  The breath prayer has become the sword of the Lord to fight many other battles of life!

Breath Prayer- Take a scriptural promise, turn it into a seven syllable affirmation give or take a few, in present tense and second person, and say it on the perfect breath (in to a count of  3 out of a count to a count of 6) as you breathe out.

Kathleen S. Lewis, RN, MS, PC, MP: has lived with SLE and many other rheumatic diseases for 32 years; is the author of CELEBRATE LIFE … NEW ATTITUDES FOR LIVING WITH CHRONIC ILLNESS and PRAYER WITHOUT CEASING … BREATH PRAYERS; runs a counseling ministry, Celebrate Life, by phone; is a Stephen minister; has 2 sons and 4 magical grandchildren;  resides in Marietta, GA. with LB, the best Peek-a-Poo ever; and knows “In my weakness is Your strength.”  Check out and meet me for a chat at http://www.letscelebratelife.com.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

