7 12 2013

                                             “ You order my steps!”

 

“You show me Your ways!” (Psalm 25:4)

“He shall direct your paths!” (Proverbs 3:5)

“You order my steps according to Your words!” )Psalm 119:133)

 

“You show me the way!”

“You direct my paths!”

“You order my steps!”

 

I have recently started using a GPS for dummies in my car. It alerts me to every exit and entrance ramp on the interstate highways. When I’m on surface streets it let’s me know every possible turn or twist I could take.

             It’s somewhat outdated so some addresses are not registered in it. The directions say that I am being triangulated by three satellites up in the sky to locate where I am. I can’t get away with this thing.

            If I take a turn that isn’t in its program it will keep saying recalculate, recalculate, recalculate! Although I choose to go the way that I know and trust and get to my destination but it maybe not by the easiest way!

 When I do get back on track it seems to me really happy. I’ve turned off the feature that tells me when I am exceeding the speed limit. It not only tells me where I am but also shows me a map with colors and all the streets labeled by the name and highway number.

 I can choose whether I want to go the quickest way or the shortest way. Before I leave I need to charge my unit up and program in where I’m leaving from and my destination point. It really comes in handy when I get totally lost.

 I like to use the quickest way to get wherever I’m going. It tries to get me to turn on streets that I have never tried before and I don’t know where they’re going. So I don’t take those streets. I’m going to a new place, it’s a bit nerve-racking to depend on the GPS’s directions to get there.

Once I was going to a party and I program in drive instead of street, so when it was saying I had reached my destination, I was at the wrong place. There were no cars around so knew something was off.

The same way, the Lord is our GPS system not in the sky but right with us showing us the way, directing our paths, and ordering our steps if we will only trust him! Sometimes we think we know the way, and head off on our own.

We get lost or confused and go the wrong directions. Sometimes life takes us in directions that we had never anticipated. I never dreamed that I would have a chronic illness, need to go on disability, go through divorce, become a counselor/writer/speaker around the country, lose my home due to mold, or need to move in with my sons and their families.

My life has been much more eventful, exciting, and frightening than I had ever planned. As a teenager, I thought that God was calling me to be a missionary nurse in Ghana. I went off to nursing school at Vanderbilt University. There I met my ex-husband and the course of my life changed. In the middle of it all, the Lord was saying recalculate, recalculate, recalculate!

The Lord led me to a new mission field with the Visiting Nursing Association in inner city of Baltimore and Atlanta where the poor and downtrodden lived. Then I got sick…. really sick … throwing blood clots to my lungs! Yikes! I was eventually diagnosed with lupus &  its many cousins.

In the middle of all that, the Lord was saying recalculate, recalculate, recalculate! My direction in life then led me to the chronically ill…. fellow strugglers became my new Mission field. I went back and got my Masters in rehab counseling with a specialty in chronic illness. I began writing columns for the Lupus Foundation of America Atlanta chapter’s Newsletter called Let’s Celebrate Life.

I had realized that the emotional and spiritual adjustment so chronic illness to be more crippling that the physical adjustment any day! I wrote that column for three years. There were so many requests for copies of the articles that the Lupus foundation compiled them into a book that is now is third edition for sale on the Amazon…. Celebrate Life…. New Attitudes for Living with Chronic Illness.

Divorce sent me into yet another direction. I took the marriage and family counseling content to help me understand what happened and my marriage. In the middle of it all, the Lord was saying recalculate, recalculate, recalculate! He led me to establish a nonprofit, phone counseling ministry to the chronically ill and their significant others.

My third book, Challenges of Living with Chronic Illness … Beginnings & Endings, will be birthed on Amazon before 2014!

All through life, I have made wrong turns, not stayed with what was originally programmed into my GPS system by the Lord, but He was able to recalculate and turn my trash into treasure, my mistakes it’s a miracles, and redeemed what seemed unredeemable!

 The Lord truly does show me the way, direct my paths, and order my steps! Praise His Name!!!!

.

 

           

 

           

//

//

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

